ILU-486 Update

It’s been a week, and I had no idea that this would be as insane as it has been. I’m not going to address reaction to the work in a critical way, because people are allowed to like/dislike it for whatever reasons they might possess. And I am not arguing with them. It does have legit flaws, but every work does, and in the end, it is what it is.

But some people have asked for a few things:

1. Are going to put this up for sale anywhere? Probably not. I released it into the wild, and it has been free for a week, and it should be free. I feel skeevy making money on it now.

That said, I am going to include it in a book of short stories available later this year, probably from Lulu, just for giggles.

2. Are you going to expand it? Probably not.

3. Can I e-book it? I guess you can, but please don’t pass it about too much? I mean, I can’t stop you, but I kind of I dunno, prefer to be able to see the pdf and approve it. I dunno. It just seems strange. But like I said, I can’t stop you.

4. ARE THERE SHIRTS?

Y YES THERE ARE! You can now buy the shirt! All proceeds go to Planned Parenthood. Thanks to the awesome S. Evelyn Vincent over at Octopus Gallery for the design and running the shop. She’s good people, and while you’re at zazzle, stop by her real shop.

5. Are there armbands?

Dear god I hope never.

6. DID YOU KNOW YOU WERE RETWEETED BY FAKE RICK SANTORUM? Yes, yes I did, and it is beautiful.

Lastly. Thank you for all the links and facebook posts and tweets and retweets. Every day I feel heartened that I’m not the only one who feels this way, and that there are a lot of us.

About Amanda Ching

I write. Fo' you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to ILU-486 Update

  1. He who stole your My Little Ponies. says:

    Would you mind if I adapt it? It would make a VERY good short.

    (You should register it with the WGA, just in case things happen to make your story all the more relevant)

    • Amanda Ching says:

      You have my total permission to adapt it! Your other thing was very awesome!

      And I can’t join either the Writer’s Guild or author’s Guild. the WGA doesn’t apply to me, and the AGA will only take me if I have more pubbing credits. But someday.

      • He who stole your My Little Ponies. says:

        You don’t need to be a member of the WGA to register it. This is a service the WGA offers to other writers, union or no. It will help you lay claim to it if a REAL skeevy person tries to profit from your work…like selling digital copies on Amazon or something.

  2. Seriously, I had been thinking about how to make it all week. Anyone wants it on another of the bizillion products Zazzle offers, let me know. I’m probably definitely going to do stickers but I haven’t thought much further than that.

  3. He who stole your My Little Ponies. says:

    Also, what is your fascination with violence and ball-peen hammers?

  4. Peanut says:

    Coffee cup, too, please?

  5. Margy Rydzynski says:

    Good stuff! Perhaps you might want to consider releasing it via a Creative Commons license of some kind, if you end up feeling more comfortable with the idea in general. It’s a great story.

  6. I say this with every ounce of love: I would love to have a shirt that says what the current shirt says, but maybe is a little better designed. Have you put out a call for graphic designers, to see if any of them would take this on?

    • Amanda Ching says:

      Uhm, not really. The person doing this is doing it out of love, and I like her design. I’m not making a big production out of it. It’s a nice little fundraiser. I am sorry you don’t like the designs, but to each his own.

  7. BethE says:

    Love the story! Fantastic work!
    And there was a women’s rights protest in Virginia on March 3rd, where riot police and SWAT team members were called in. I saw the picture at an article about the arrests and thought of you and your story. http://www2.timesdispatch.com/news/2012/mar/04/tdmain07-hundreds-demonstrate-for-womens-rights-at-ar-1738569/ I wonder how many armbands were there.

  8. Sharon Scott says:

    Could there be a bumper sticker with just the last line and story link?

  9. prosey says:

    Hey Amanda,

    Do proceeds for these shirts still go directly to PPFA? I love the story, and I’m starting to share it again, since now it seems we really NEED to spread it more broadly. I am also interested in buying a couple of the shirts if the proceeds still go to PPFA.

    Thanks,
    Denise

  10. Amanda Ching says:

    ABSOLUTELY. THESE PROCEEDS WILL ALWAYS GO TO PPFA. If I ever sell the story as a reprint, that money is mine, but the shop as it is here is set up to go to PPFA in its entirety.

    • prosey says:

      EXCELLENT!!! <3 <3 <3 (Spreading the word…and personally, I think you *should* sell it as a reprint. Excellent writing and needs a MUCH broader audience.)

      Big Love.

      • Amanda Ching says:

        Thanks for the kind words! I have tried to sell it, but it has not tempted anyone so far. It’s okay, though. I am content to lave it here.

        • prosey says:

          I would buy it…in a HEARTBEAT. To have YOUR words, with YOUR approved copyright and registration attached. And I *still* will, whenever you do succeed (and keep trying).

          That said…I know you have said plainly that you are content with it being here, and it being shared in social media…etc. I still feel better if I ask, personally, FIRST…before I share your written ideas in my own space, from you directly. I’ve linked your story many times…but I would like to share it, in its entirety (no edits made at all, just a straight copy/paste) to my own space…which would be a first, given I’ve never shared a short story of another person of THIS size (whether fiction or non, dystopian or now)…

          Right now, though, I believe your writing is SO very timely and important. You touched the pulse of something so fundamental, without really digging into detail into what it’s actually ABOUT, just how it affects people (women and men alike), and how important the freedom of choice truly is.

          For that, I have been your fan since I first read your space, and came back today because…well, it MATTERS. I will continue to encourage you to build on this piece for a fuller story. With love.

          ~denise

Leave a Reply

