In Which I Read Other People’s Work.

Short blog post this week, because I am not feeling wizard. Also, I am Le Tired.

A few years (years?) ago, and old school buddy of mine reached out to me from the nefarious depths of the internet and asked me if I’d like to do some audio narration for Escapepod, the Scifi podcast. (You can find their main page here.)

(Strangely enough, years before that I had subbed to their sister podcast, the horror genre Pseudopod, and been rejected. But that is neither here nor there. I say it because you know, I did these things. AND I AM STILL RAW. Naw, it was a shitty story, about a funeral director who eats tiny parts of his clients as a way to absorb their power out of respect for the dead. Think Six Feet Under meets Dexter. Or something. Anyway.)

Having no experience in audio narration, but LOVING to read out loud, I began with a short story by Merrie Haskell. I have a shitload more to learn, and I don’t have ANY of the editing skills to make my own narrations, but I do love me some reading. I can’t listen to myself, though. I hate hearing myself in the background of home movies, let alone a whole track dedicated to my voice.

NEW: Sarah’s Child by Susan Jane Bigelow

Plural by Lia Swope Mitchell

A Day Without Sunshine by Esther Saxey

Sounding the Fall by Jei D. Marcade (features gender neutral pronouns)

The Evening, The Morning and the Night by Octavia Butler

Selkie Stories are for Losers by Sofia Samatar

Made of Cats by Judith Tarr

Zebulon Vance Sings the Alphabet Songs of Love by Merrie Haskell

Incidentally, should you be in the mood for a great male narrator, try Mat Weller, who got me started, and who is in general a great reader. Thanks for the opportunity, Mat.

About Amanda Ching

I write. Fo' you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to In Which I Read Other People’s Work.

  1. layout says:

    I quite like reading through a post that can make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

Leave a comment